March Top 5 Reads

March Top 5 Reads

Today is the day to talk March Top 5 Reads. In this post I’ll be sharing my Top 5 books of March and two more that I think you’ll enjoy.

A Closer Look at the Top 5 Reads of March 2021

Last month I didn’t read as many books, but in March I’m hoping that will change.

Let’s waste no more time and get to the March Top 5 Reads:

This month is packed with great reads that I hope you’ll be picking up and then come chat with me about them!

A number of these novels I’ve had the pleasure of reading and reviewed, so make sure to check those reviews out for more details on what to expect: Perfect on Paper Sophie Gonzales, When We Were Infinite by Kelly Loy Gilbert The Descent of the Drowned by Ana Lal Din The Conductors by Nicole Glover and Things That Grow by Meredith Goldstein can be found on my blog.

There is also Wendy Heard’s romance thriller, She’s Too Pretty To Kill.

And let’s not forget the author that brought us Cemetery Boys has a new novel coming out, Lost in the Woods by Aiden Thomas.

Plus, I have another one for March that I wanted readers to keep an eye out for: Rule of Wolves by Leigh Bardugo.

What books I’m reading in March

I’m planning on ticking more books from my backlist. My goal, like last month is to read at least a couple of books off my backlist each month. I’ll also be including a new release sprinkled in too (I had to compromise). But the goal is reading more books off of my shelf.

I am VERY excited to step back into Leigh Bardugo’s King of Scars duology at the end of the month with Rule of Wolves!

Remember, as we continue to read, make sure that we keep adding Own Voices, BIPOC, and LGBTQIA+ reads to our shelves. Keep the momentum friends of broadening our bookshelves to reflect the diverse topography of the world.

You can check out all the latest books hitting shelves this month on our YA Book Release Calendar.

Need suggestions for your next read?

Sheaf & Ink has you covered.

Check out this months Top 5 book recommendations for March 2021

March Top 5 Reads

Contemporary Fiction

Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales

Seaf & Ink Book Review Read Here >>

Darcy Phillips is a dating/relationship advice expert. She runs a questionable small business at her high school, using an unused locker as a means to communicate with her clientele. Locker 89 is where students seek love advice by slipping anonymous letters to Darcy and has done so for the past two years.

Until everything turns upside down. Alexander Brougham (the hot Australian born senior) catches Darcy in the act of getting her letters. He then blackmails her into helping him get his ex-girlfriend back.





When We Were Infinite by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Seaf & Ink Book Review Read Here >>

Beth Claire, a high school senior, only wants one thing, for her four friends to be together for a lifetime. She’s desperate to keep them all together. She is the glue to the puzzle that is their friendship. And after witnessing one friend being abused by his father followed by the unthinkable happening, Beth will do anything to stop the glue from weakening. Even at the cost of her future happiness.







Things That Grow by Meredith Goldstein

Seaf & Ink Book Review Read Here >>

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.


Fantasy

The Descent of the Drowned by Ana Lal Din

Seaf & Ink Book Review Read Here >>

She is bound to serve. He is meant to kill. Survival is their prison. Choice is their weapon.

As the sacred slave of a goddess, Roma is of a lower caste that serves patrons to sustain the balance between gods and men. What she wants is her freedom, but deserters are hunted and hanged, and Roma only knows how to survive in her village where women are vessels without a voice. When her younger brother is condemned to the same wretched fate as hers, Roma must choose between silence and rebellion.

Leviathan is the bastard son of an immortal tyrant. Raised in a military city where everyone knows of his blood relation to the persecuted clans, Leviathan is considered casteless. Lowest of the low. Graduating as one of the deadliest soldiers, he executes in his father’s name, displaying his worth. When he faces judgement from his mother’s people—the clans—Leviathan must confront his demons and forge his own path, if he ever hopes to reclaim his soul.



It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are brought back into light. Attempting to flee her past, Wendy almost runs over an unconscious boy lying in the middle of the road, and gets pulled into the mystery haunting the town.

Peter, a boy she thought lived only in her stories, claims that if they don’t do something, the missing children will meet the same fate as her brothers. In order to find them and rescue the missing kids, Wendy must confront what’s waiting for her in the woods.


Epic Fantasy

The Demon King. As Fjerda’s massive army prepares to invade, Nikolai Lantsov will summon every bit of his ingenuity and charm—and even the monster within—to win this fight. But a dark threat looms that cannot be defeated by a young king’s gift for the impossible.

The Stormwitch. Zoya Nazyalensky has lost too much to war. She saw her mentor die and her worst enemy resurrected, and she refuses to bury another friend. Now duty demands she embrace her powers to become the weapon her country needs. No matter the cost.

The Stormwitch. Zoya Nazyalensky has lost too much to war. She saw her mentor die and her worst enemy resurrected, and she refuses to bury another friend. Now duty demands she embrace her powers to become the weapon her country needs. No matter the cost.

The Queen of Mourning. Deep undercover, Nina Zenik risks discovery and death as she wages war on Fjerda from inside its capital. But her desire for revenge may cost her country its chance at freedom and Nina the chance to heal her grieving heart.


Historical Fantasy

The Conductors by Nicole Glover

Seaf & Ink Book Review Read Here >>

As a conductor on the Underground Railroad, Hetty Rhodes helped usher dozens of people north with her wits and magic. Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband Benjy have settled in Philadelphia, solving murders and mysteries that the white authorities won’t touch. When they find one of their friends slain in an alley, Hetty and Benjy bury the body and set off to find answers. But the secrets and intricate lies of the elites of Black Philadelphia only serve to dredge up more questions. To solve this mystery, they will have to face ugly truths all around them, including the ones about each other.

In this vibrant and original novel, Nicole Glover joins a roster of contemporary writers within fantasy, such as Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, who use speculative fiction to delve into important historical and cultural threads.


Thriller

An electric romance set against a rebel art scene sparks lethal danger for two girls in this expertly plotted YA thriller. For fans of E. Lockhart, Lauren Oliver and Kara Thomas.

The summer is winding down in San Diego. Veronica is bored, caustically charismatic, and uninspired in her photography. Nico is insatiable, subversive, and obsessed with chaotic performance art. They’re artists first, best friends second. But that was before Mick. Delicate, lonely, magnetic Mick: the perfect subject, and Veronica’s dream girl. The days are long and hot―full of adventure―and soon they are falling in love. Falling so hard, they never imagine what comes next. One fire. Two murders. Three drowning bodies. One suspect . . . one stalker. This is a summer they won’t survive.


See any March 2021 YA books you can’t wait to read?

Sheaf & Ink, Cecelia Beckman

Share any March reads you’re looking forward to in the comments. We love hearing from you.



Pin This March Top 5 Reads



Leave a Reply