You are currently viewing Duel by Jessixa Bagley illustrated by Aaron Bagley

Duel by Jessixa Bagley illustrated by Aaron Bagley

I’m so excited to feature Jessixa and Aaron Bagley’s gaphic novel DUEL. Thank you to @SimonKids for sending me an advance readers copy.

Let’s dive in!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Sheaf-Ink-Blog-Tour-Post-Image.png

BOOK DETAILS

A rivalry between sisters culminates in a fencing duel in this funny and emotional debut graphic novel sure to appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.

Sixth grader Lucy loves fantasy novels and is brand-new to middle school. GiGi is the undisputed queen bee of eighth grade (as well as everything else she does). They’ve only got one thing in common: fencing. Oh, and they’re sisters. They never got along super well, but ever since their dad died, it seems like they’re always at each other’s throats.

When GiGi humiliates Lucy in the cafeteria on the first day of school, Lucy snaps and challenges GiGi to a duel with high sisterly stakes. If GiGi wins, Lucy promises to stay out of GiGi’s way; if Lucy wins, GiGi will stop teasing Lucy for good. But after their scene in the cafeteria, both girls are on thin ice with the principal and their mom. Lucy stopped practicing fencing after their fencer dad died and will have to get back to fighting form in secret or she’ll be in big trouble. And GiGi must behave perfectly or risk getting kicked off the fencing team.

As the clock ticks down to the girls’ fencing bout, the anticipation grows. Their school is divided into GiGi and Lucy factions, complete with t-shirts declaring kids’ allegiances. Both sisters are determined to triumph. But will winning the duel mean fracturing their family even further?


Kids Book Feature: Duel

Category: Children’s Fiction > Family > Parents |  Children’s Fiction > People & Places > United States > African-American
Bookmark (0)

Hardback

$24.99

Nov 7, 2023 | ISBN 9781534496552 | 320 pages | Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Buy From These Retailers OR Add to your TBR:


ABOUT THE AUTHOR & Illustrator

Jessixa Bagley is children’s book author-illustrator with a background in fine art and comics. She has had work featured in publications such as New American PaintingsThe Chicago Reader, Nickelodeon Magazine, and Highlights Magazine. Her first picture book, Boats for Papa,received numerous awards and accolades including the 2016 SCBWI Golden Kite Award for picture book text and a 2016 Washington State Book Award. Her picture book Laundry Day received a 2018 Ezra Jack Keats Honor Award for writing. Many of her picture books are also Junior Library Guild Selections. In her work, she’s drawn to animals and emotional themes often inspired by her own experiences. Jessixa also teaches and speaks about writing and illustration. She often illustrates for other writers and artistically collaborates with her husband, Aaron Bagley. Jessixa lives in Seattle with her husband and son.


Aaron Bagley is a human man who draws for a living. He likes to draw what he observes (people, boats, cats) and what he experiences (dreams, feelings, life events). His work has been featured in The Virginia Quarterly ReviewThe StrangerThe Seattle WeeklyThe Seattle Review of Books, and many more. Above all else, Aaron loves collaborating with his wife, Jessixa. Together, they’ve created picture book Vincent Comes Home and middle grade graphic novel Duel.


Instagram Post


FROM THE PUBLISHER


you may also like


Welcome Reader!

I’m Cecelia and I’m so glad you’re here! You’ll find honest reviews, book recommendations, along with other bookish essentials. So happy you stopped by!

– C



Leave a Reply