Blog Tour / / Dustborn by Erin Bowman / /

Blog Tour / / Dustborn by Erin Bowman / /

Welcome to my stop of the @ToursTerminal Dustborn Blog Tour. I’m excited to spotlight Dustborn today on my blog and share a few of my thoughts with my fellow bookworms.

Praise for Dustborn

With its unforgettable blend of science fiction, dystopia, and Old West, Dustborn is one of those stories that stays branded to your heart long after you turn the final page. Prepare to be transported.

Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling author of My Plain Jane and the Fallen Isles TrilogyJodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling author of My Plain Jane and the Fallen Isles Trilogy
HMH Books For Young Readers

“Grit, perseverance, and a strong will to survive Delta of Dead River from Erin Bowman’s Dustborn will remind readers of the fervor felt for Furiosa in the 2015 Mad Max Fury Road movie.”

Cecelia Beckman, Sheaf & Ink

Dustoborn Blog Tour

Dystopian novels are an interesting perspective of the “what if’s” of our own reality. They’re like this warning. A red flag, but written in text form. Trying to grab our attention about what could happen if humanity isn’t careful.

For instance, there’s always something foreboding when you step into a dystopian novel. It’s like an eerily familiar road map. How authors paint often terrifying, harsh, and bleak truths in hues our eyes won’t be able to look away from. While also creating characters who are driven by gut instincts in order to survive.

Moreover, I feel like any dystopian novel nowadays is relatable. Primarily in times of crisis. Specifically with the past year we’ve all been though. A pandemic can do that to you. And it has me thinking: what will our future look like?

A Few More Thoughts

A hellish wasteland. Limited recourses. Your senses are always on edge, heightened as a result of something going terribly wrong. Steadily aware of the growing unease in your belly. Survival at any cost. A fierce and determined heroine.

All of these makes for a novel I’m definitely ready to read.

Which is why I’m excited to spotlight Erin Bowman’s stand alone novel, Dustborn.

Let’s dive in:

Dustborn by Erin Bowman

Delta of Dead River sets out to rescue her family from a ruthless dictator rising to power in the Wastes and discovers a secret that will reshape her world in this postapocalyptic Western mashup for fans of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl.

Delta of Dead River has always been told to hide her back, where a map is branded on her skin to a rumored paradise called the Verdant. In a wasteland plagued by dust squalls, geomagnetic storms, and solar flares, many would kill for it—even if no one can read it. So when raiders sent by a man known as the General attack her village, Delta suspects he is searching for her.

Delta sets out to rescue her family but quickly learns that in the Wastes no one can be trusted—perhaps not even her childhood friend, Asher, who has been missing for nearly a decade. If Delta can trust Asher, she just might decode the map and trade evidence of the Verdant to the General for her family. What Delta doesn’t count on is what waits at the Verdant: a long-forgotten secret that will shake the foundation of her entire world.



Mini Review – Dustborn

Dustborn is a western dystopian.  Where readers are crossing into uncharted territory, outlaws waiting at every turn, wondering will anyone survive. 

With a quick pace, readers will burn through the first half of the book with relative ease.  The chapters baiting and hooking you into the next like the first glimmers of light at the end of a very long tunnel. You crave to get to the ending, running as fast as you can. To relish in the warm rays after being in the darkness for so long. 

Having a major plot twist towards the end, followed by dozens of questions once that revelation was discovered, which were mostly answered after I finished the book, I felt Bowman’s story overall, was a good one.

It certainly will have readers hopeful to see Dustborn adapted onto the silver screen.

Full Review >>

RATING: ink blotink blotink blot – Satisfyingly Inked




Erin Bowman

Publication Details

  • Author: Erin Bowman
  • Publication day: April 20, 2021
  • Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers
  • ISBN: 978-0358244431
  • Pages: 432
  • Age Group: 12+
  • Hardcopy: $17.99
  • Buy Links: ⬇️

About the Author

Erin Bowman is the critically acclaimed author of numerous books for children and teens, including the Taken Trilogy, Vengeance Road, Retribution Rails, the Edgar Award-nominated Contagion duology, The Girl and the Witch’s Garden, and the forthcoming Dustborn. A web designer turned author, Erin has always been invested in telling stories—both visually and with words. Erin lives in New Hampshire with her husband and children.

You can visit her online at embowman.com, on twitter @erin_bowman, or on instagram @heyerin.


Check out Sheaf & Ink Dustborn Blog Tour on Instagram

Another way to find out more about Dustborn Book Tour visit my Instagram Book Blog Tour Post and Spotlight hosted by @ToursTerminal.

Sheaf & Ink Blog Tour + GIVEAWAY

Need More Book Recommendations?

Sheaf & Ink has reviewed a number of Young Adult novels in dystopian fantasy. Read Dustborn, The Girl From Shadow Springs, and The Toll book reviews to find your next favorite read.

And join the conversation. We love hearing from you.




Happy Reading ̴ Cece



This Post Has 2 Comments

  1. Melissa Galvan

    So excited to get a chance to read this book! Thank you 💖 I came from Instagram 💖

    1. Cece Beckman

      Thank you ❤️

Leave a Reply